CHAMPIONS: Mafolofolo

Mascom Wireless have been commended for their admirable contribution in sports development over the years.

Deputy Permanent Secretary in the Ministry of Youth Empowerment, Sport and Culture Development, Kgomotso Ramoroka has commended the giant mobile phone operators for what he described as a good spirit, business partnership and true friendship in the country’s sporting landscape.

Speaking at the Mascom Volleyball awards held at the Gaborone International Convention Centre (GICC) on Thursday, Ramoroka said such partnership is a driving force for a quality sport delivery system.

He said he was also pleased with the fact that volleyball is now played indoors as it helps volleyball players get used to playing in world standard facilities.

He further implored all the institutions that have such indoor facilities to avail them for the development of the sport.

Ramoroka emphasized that sport development was crucial as most sport careers started from backyards, in the streets and in dusty playing fields with the much needed assistance of teachers, volunteer coaches and parents. “I wish to encourage all leaders of sport to continue to work hard to develop sport,” he said.

Mafolofolo women’s team and Police VI mens team each walked away P100 000 richer after emerging champions in their respective leagues.


Other Mascom Volleyball awards winners were as follows;

Best Attacker- Alec Engleton
Best Blocker- MoemediSiphambe
Best Setter- TjiyapoMadeluka
Best Server- Happy Ribbin
Best Libero- GodiraoneDikgang
Most Valuable Player; Alec Engleton
Best Coach- ShimakaNgwanaotsile

Best Attacker- Tracy Chaba
Best Blocker- Monica Alfred
Best Setter- KelebogileMahupela
Best Server- ThapeloKamberuka
Best Libero- KebabonyePhofedi
Most Valuable Player- ChadaMajaha
Best Coach- KaboNtshinogang

Print Media Reporter of the year- CalistusKolantsho (Mmegi)
Photographer of the year- LetlhogonoloMawila (Independent)
Radio Presenter of the year- Martin Fani (Yarona FM)
Camera Person of the year- PontshoPatlakwe (BTV)
Televison Reporter of the year- KatlegoKgakole (BTV)

Leave a Reply

Please Login to comment
Notify of